Skip links

PACENation Announces 2023 PACESetters and PACE Champions of the Year

Twenty-four leaders were recognized for their efforts to strengthen the PACE marketplace for local communities and property owners

NEW YORK, NY—PACENation, the national membership association for PACE (Property Assessed Clean Energy) financing, announced at the 2023 PACENation Summit this year’s PACE Champions of the Year and PACESetter Award recipients. PACESetters and PACE Champions were honored for their distinguished leadership in several categories, including policy innovation, program design and implementation, innovative deals of the year, and for promoting diversity, equity, and inclusion in the PACE marketplace.

“We are honored to recognize this year’s PACESetters and PACE Champions, whose work has truly moved PACE forward over the past year,” said Mary Luévano, PACENation’s Acting Executive Director. “Thanks to your efforts, PACE is available to more property owners to do the important work of making their buildings more efficient and resilient. To date, PACE financing has promoted over $26 billion in local economic development, reduced carbon emissions by an estimated 13 million metric tons, and led to the creation of as many as 188,000 local jobs. Thank you to each one of you for the contributions you make every day to build and strengthen this industry.”


PACE Champions are recognized for extraordinary leadership over multiple years to strengthen and expand the PACE marketplace. The 2023 PACE Champions are:

  • Pennsylvania C-PACE Expansion and Implementation Coalition Team, jointly awarded to Philadelphia Energy Authority, Sustainable Energy Fund, and Pennsylvania Senator John Yudichak
  • Caleb Bell, Bricker Graydon


PACESetter Awards are designed to recognize individuals and teams whose efforts have advanced PACE as a critical public policy tool that strengthens communities. The 2023 PACESetters are:

PACESetter Award for Promoting Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in the PACE Marketplace

  • Bali Kumar, PACE Loan Group

PACESetter Award for Excellence in Program Design and Implementation

  • Kim Johnston, Slipstream
  • Dub Taylor, Texas PACE Authority
  • Melanie Lucas Conwell, Municipality of Anchorage, AK
  • Tracy Phillips, Sustainable Real Estate Solutions 

PACESetter Award for Excellence in Advocacy and Policy Innovation

  • Emma Harvey Smith, Green Finance Institute
  • Bob Iber, US HUD
  • Representative Sean Casten
  • Representative Emanuel Cleaver

PACESetter Award for Innovative Deals of the Year

Under $5M

  • Pullman Yards, Invest Atlanta
  • White House Senior Living, Greenrock Capital


  • Bridger Brewing’s Headwaters Utility Association, Montana Facility Finance Authority and Forbright Bank


  • Black Desert Resort, Petros PACE Finance

PACESetter Award for Innovative Financial Institutions

  • City First Bank
  • German American State Bank

PACESetter Award for Women Leaders in PACE

  • Angela Ledding, PACE Loan Group
  • Laura Rapaport, Northbridge
  • Diane Rath, Alamo Area Council of Governments (AACOG)

PACESetter Award for Legacy Achievement in PACE

  • Pete Klein, MinnPACE

PACENation is the nonprofit membership organization that advocates for expanded access to PACE financing. PACENation provides resources and support to local governments, businesses, and nonprofit organizations that are committed to allowing American property owners to improve the efficiency and resiliency of their homes and businesses with PACE.